Marshall Awards


March 21, 2018 at 6:00pm (Doors open at 5:30)

The recipient of the Youth and Adult Leadership awards will be announced at a ceremony on March 21, 2018 at Providence Academy. Nominations must be received by The Historic Trust by 5 p.m. on February 16.


The nominee must be a 12th grade high school student living in Clark County (home schooled students are eligible). The nominee’s activities and projects must advance the work and philosophy of General George C. Marshall by:
• Demonstrating leadership
• Taking a stand for the rights of others
• Serving as a role model
• Showing initiative
• Motivating others to become involved



To qualify for the Marshall Adult Leadership Award, a nominee must be 35 years of age or younger, possess a 4-year college degree, and be a resident of Clark County. Selection is based on demonstrated leadership ability, commitment to public service, academic achievement, and potential for an ongoing leadership role in the community.

Purchase Tickets for the Marshall Awards Ceremony!


From 1936 to 1938 General George C. Marshall lived in Vancouver in the Victorian house on Officers Row that today bears his name. While in Vancouver, he was a Brigadier General and served as Commander of the 5th Infantry Brigade at Vancouver Barracks. Marshall served as the Chief of Staff of the U.S. Army during World War II and he was Secretary of State from 1947 to 1949. He was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for the Marshall Plan, which helped rebuild the economies of Europe and the Pacific nations after the war.


General George C. Marshall Public Leadership Award was instituted in 1989 to recognize a young person’s commitment to public service and demonstrated leadership potential. This award was created in cooperation with the Marshall Foundation in Lexington, Virginia, to commemorate General Marshall’s two-year residence in Vancouver and to honor the legacy of this world statesman.

Two awards are given to Clark County Residents each year at the ceremony.

The ADULT LEADERSHIP AWARD is given to a community figure 35 years of age or younger who has demonstrated leadership ability, commitment to public service, academic achievement and potential for an ongoing active role in public service.

The YOUTH LEADERSHIP AWARD was established in 2000, and is presented to a high school Senior who demonstrates leadership, takes a stand for the rights of others, serves as a role model, shows initiative and motivates others to become involved.


Jenny N. Thompson, Police Activities League of Vancouver
Bridgette M. McCarthy, Washougal High School

Marshall Awards 2018
Watch the 2018 Award Ceremony Here!

Congratulations All Award Recipients


  • 2018 Jenny N. Thompson
  • 2017 D. Max Ault
  • 2016 Paige Spratt
  • 2015 John Blom
  • 2014 Matthew Bisturis
  • 2013 Jordan Boldt
  • (no award program in 2012)
  • 2011 Katherine Benson
  • 2010 Devin Jackson
  • 2009 Phillip Harberthur
  • 2008 Cheryl Bledsoe
  • 2007 Deena Bisig
  • 2006 VaNessa Duplessie
  • 2005 Gregory McGreevey
  • 2004 Jennifer Kampsula
  • 2003 Dena Horton
  • 2002 Tanisha Harris
  • 2001 Scott Patterson
  • 2000 Juliet Laycoe Hagley
  • 1999 Michael Stromme
  • 1998 Theresa Wagner
  • 1997 Charlene Ryan
  • 1996 Tom Hagley, Jr.
  • 1995 Shawna Burkholder
  • 1994 Darin Atteberry
  • 1993 Paula Martin
  • 1992 Doug Sessions
  • 1991 Steve Dearborn
  • 1990 John McIlvain
  • 1989 Cindy Gibbon


  • 2018 Bridgette M. McCarthy – Washougal High School
  • 2017 Sophie Muro – Camas High School
  • 2016 Alena Jarvis – Battle Ground High School
  • 2015 Sean Michael Nolan – La Center High School
  • 2014 Jose Scott- Fort Vancouver High School
  • 2013 Natalie Lucey – Mountain View High School
  • 2012 Zachary Hall – Heritage High School
  • 2011 Samantha Cahill – Union High School
  • 2010 Lindsey Elhart – Hudson’s Bay High School
  • 2009 Emma Sagor – Camas High School
  • 2008 Renata Fusso – Skyview High School
  • 2007 Jane Lee – Mountain View High School
  • 2006 Kate Castenson – Mountain View High School
  • 2005 Rosalyn Hart – Washougal High School
  • 2004 Anya Pavlovic – Columbia River High School
  • 2003 Dane Anderson – Prairie High School
  • 2002 Kandi Bauman-Garvey – Hudson’s Bay High School
  • 2001 MaReesa Davenport – Heritage High School

Start typing and press Enter to search